International organizations

ALLEA (European Federation of Academies of Sciences and Humanities) was founded in 1994, in Paris. It brings together 59 Academies in more than 40 countries from the Council of Europe region. Jointly with its Member Academies, ALLEA addresses structural and policy issues facing Europe in science, research and innovation. Latvian Academy of Sciences joined ALLEA in 1994. More information:

EASAC (European Academies' Science Advisory Council) was established in 2001, and is formed by the national science academies of the EU Member States to enable them to collaborate with each other in providing independent science advice to European policy makers. It provides a means for the collective voice of European science. The main areas of EASAC activity are environmental sciences, biosciences, and energy. More information:

ISC (International Science Council) was created in 2018 as the result of a merger between the International Council for Science (ICSU) and the International Social Science Council (ISSC). It is the only international non-governmental organization bringing together the natural and social sciences and the largest global science organization of its type. ISC is a non-governmental organization with a unique global membership that brings together 40 international scientific Unions and Associations and over 140 national and regional scientific organizations including Academies and Research Councils. More information:

UAI (The Union Académique Internationale) was established in 1919 in Paris, with a general secretariat established in Brussels. The UAI is a global organization of national academies in the fields of the humanities and social sciences and unites more than 60 national academies of sciences worldwide. It aims to initiate, recognize, foster and fund basic long-term international research projects. The UAI advocates for the role of the humanities and the social sciences in a changing world. LAS joined the UAI in 1997. More information:

IAP (The InterAcademy Partnership) The InterAcademy Partnership (IAP), was formally launched in South Africa in March 2016. It unites established networks of academies of science, medicine and engineering, namely, the InterAcademy Medical Panel (IAMP) and the InterAcademy Council (IAC). More than 130 member academies work together to support the special role of science.  The IAP harness the expertise of the world's scientific, medical and engineering leaders to advance sound policies, promote excellence in science education, improve public health, and achieve other critical development goals. More information:  

LAS is the Affiliated Organization of International Foundation for Science (IFS), which mission is to contribute to strengthening the capacity of developing countries to conduct relevant and high quality research on sustainable management of biological and water resources; see

LAS has links with the Union of European Academies for Science Applied to Agriculture, Food and Nature (UEAA); see

AUSTRIA Austrian Academy of Sciences;

AZERBAIJAN Azerbaijan National Academy of Sciences;

BULGARIA Bulgarian Academy of Sciences;

CANADA The Royal Society of Canada;

CHINA Chinese Academy of Social Sciences; 

CZECH REPUBLIC The Czech Academy of Sciences;

European Academy of Sciences and Arts;

ESTONIA Estonian Academy of Sciences;

FINLAND Academy of Finland;

FINLAND Finnish Academy of Science and Letters;

FRANCE Academy of Sciences - Institute of France;

GEORGIA Georgian National Academy of Sciences;

GERMANY Berlin - Brandenburg Academy of Sciences and Humanities;
                   Saxonian Academy of Sciences and Humanities;;
                   Academy of Sciences and Humanities in Hamburg;

HUNGARY Hungarian Academy of Sciences;

ITALY National Academy of the Lincei;

ISRAEL Israel Academy of Sciences and Humanities;

KAZAKHSTAN National Academy of Sciences of Kazahstan;

LIBYA The Libyan Authority for Research, Science & Technology, Ministry of Higher Education and Scientific Research;

LITHUANIA Lithuanian Academy of Sciences;

MONTENEGRO Montenegrin Academy of Sciences and Arts;

MOLDOVA  Academy of Sciences of Moldova;

PAKISTAN Pakistan Academy of Sciences;

POLAND Polish Academy of Sciences;

SLOVAKIA Slovak Academy of Sciences;

SLOVENIA Slovenian Academy of Sciences and Arts;

SWEDEN Royal Swedish Academy of Letters, History and Antiquities;

SWITZERLAND Swiss Academy of Sciences;

TAIWAN Ministry of Science and Technology;

UKRAINE National Academy of Sciences of Ukraine;

                 Academy of Political Sciences of Ukraine;

UZBEKISTAN Academy of Sciences of the Republic of Uzbekistan;

We use cookies

We use cookies on our website. Some of them are essential for the operation of the site, while others help us to improve this site and the user experience (tracking cookies). You can decide for yourself whether you want to allow cookies or not. Please note that if you reject them, you may not be able to use all the functionalities of the site.